8 ~ Family Furnishings: Selected Stories, 1995-2014 by Alice Munro

Short stories are one of my least favourite styles of literature but I wanted to give Alice Munro’s book Family Furnishings: Selected Stories, 1995-2014 a chance. I got 3/4 of the way through the book but I will be honest in saying that I didn’t read the entire book. I found the stories marginally depressing and frustrating to read; short stories have always left me waiting for a tidy ending that never comes. These are my personal opinions of course, some people love short stories and/or stories with unhappy endings. It is my understanding with short stories that the final narrative is to be left for the imagination but I do object to a sad story which has neither a happy ending nor any conclusion at all. Furthermore, I believe that some people are inherently good and these short stories gave me no hope at all for the good of mankind. The characters were selfish, murderous, angry and conniving. These stories were definitely not my favourite but I can appreciate the talent it requires of an author to be able to write short stories.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20819683-family-furnishings?utm_medium=api&utm_source=blog_book

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6410.Alice_Munro

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

