My READ50 for 2016!

Well 2016 was a busy year and looking back I find that I really did not do very many book reviews. I did manage to complete my READ50 challenge for yet another year and I believe my final total was ~52 books for 2016! Although I did not review all of the books I read, I do want to tell you about a few of my favourite books and series as well as a few undiscovered authors that you may or may not have heard of. But first, take a quick look at the titles I did read and see if there are any that pique your interest for the upcoming year.

Link to Adrienne’s GoodReads List for 2016

 

By Gaslight by Steven Price

28007842

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28007842-by-gaslight?utm_medium=api&utm_source=blog_book

William Pinkerton hunting Adam Foole; a private detective versus a notorious thief. Just like his father before him, Pinkerton spends his life chasing a ghost thief name Shade in this historical/crime fiction novel. I really enjoyed this novel and it kept me engaged in the storyline and was easy to follow even with some time-shifting. The author, Steven Price, does do away with typographical convention though and removed all dialogue quotation marks. This reading style does take a bit of getting used to but after the first chapter I found it did not bother me.

The 39 Clues series by Rick Riordan

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8941418-the-39-clues-complete-collection?utm_medium=api&utm_source=blog_book

My son really enjoys this series. It is one of his favourites to have us read aloud to him at bedtime. We go back and forth between “The 39 Clues” original series books and “The 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers” series which is in succession to the first series. I would recommend only reading it to the older children and young teens as it can be violent sometimes. The writing style in the novels can be difficult at times when reading aloud I find I often have to either leave out words or add words to make it sound grammatically correct.

Layered: Baking, Building, and Styling by Tessa Huff

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26240710-layered?utm_medium=api&utm_source=blog_book

What a great cake book! I was so excited when this book arrived in the mail and I will be honest, I rarely spend $ on new books. I recently made a new cake and used the Buttercream recipe from “Layered” and it turned out simply delicious, like whipped cream consistency and so yummy. Super baking book and I would highly recommend. If you want to see my cake creation, check out my blog post using Tessa Huffs buttercream recipe: http://wp.me/p3QU1I-9M

Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series by Laurie R. King

https://www.goodreads.com/series/40966-mary-russell-and-sherlock-holmes

This is definitely my favourite series of 2016. I was sad to reach the end of the books and wished there were more to come! In September of 2016 the final book was published which is a collection of short stories; Mary Russell’s War: And Other Stories of Suspense

The Mapmakers Trilogy by S.E.Grove

These three books are for any Science Fiction / Fantasy readers out there. It is a juvenile series but I found it entertaining and enjoyable to read. It can be dark and I am not sure I would let my child read it but definitely fine for teenagers and older. The trilogy follows the lives of Sophia, her uncle Shadrack and her friend Theo. They traverse through different lands all the while learning that time itself can be abstract. Each land they visit they experience different types of people and creatures and have to discern who to trust and who they should not. I found the characterization a bit shallow but the imagination and fun in each of these novels was enough to keep me reading. So much creativity in these books; how S.E. Grove was able to think up such a wild and exciting world I cannot begin to imagine. The books in order are:

  1. The Glass Sentence
  2. The Golden Specific
  3. The Crimson Screw

https://www.goodreads.com/series/118416-the-mapmakers-trilogy

These are my top books for 2016 and I hope to have many more books to share in 2017! Please feel free to comment on what your favourite books were for the year as I am always looking for suggestions. ~ Adrienne

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My READ50 for 2016!

  1. Good suggestions! My fave reads from 2016 were Girl Boss by Sophia Amoruso, Before I Go to Sleep by SJ Watson, and The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

